South-South Cooperation

India-Brazil-South Africa (IBSA) Trilateral

India-Brazil-South Africa (IBSA) Trilateral  - 


Established:  2003


IBSA is a trilateral, developmental initiative between India, Brazil and South Africa to promote South-South cooperation and exchange. The Group was created in June 2003 at the meeting of Ministers of Foreign Affairs with the signature of the Brasilia Declaration and was formally launched by Presidents Thabo Mbeki, Lula da Silva and Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee during the UN General Assembly in September 2003. The main principles of the agreement is to promote South-South Cooperation and dialogue in order to achieve common positions on issues of international importance , to explore trade and investment opportunities, to promote international poverty alleviation and social development,  exchange of information, technologies and skills, as well as to compliment each others competitive strengths into collective synergies.

IBSA has became an instrumental institution for promoting closer coordination on global issues between three large multicultural and multiracial democracies of Asia, South America and Africa, and contributed to enhancing trilateral India-Brazil-South Africa cooperation in sector areas namely agriculture, climate change, culture, defence, education, energy, health, information society, science and technology, social development, trade and investment, tourism and transport.  The IBSA Dialogue Forum has regular consultations at Senior Official (Focal Point), Ministerial (Trilateral Joint Commission) and Heads of State and/or Government (Summit) levels, and facilitates interaction amongst academics, business and other members of civil society.

In 2003, IBSA created the IBSA Fund for Poverty Alleviation, the first initiative of cooperation for development in the basis of trilateral South-South cooperation. The IBSA FUND has projects in Haiti, Guinea Bissau and in Laos (in phase of implementation) coordinated by the South-South Unit of the UNDP.